The Special Telecommunications Service is the public authority in charge with the critical infrastructures under its administration, related  to “IT&C” and “National Security” sectors, according to the current legislation.

The critical infrastructures categories operated by STS include:

- Information Technology and Communication Infrastructures

- Data Centers

- Computer Systems and Services

- 112 Service

- Services provided in special and cooperation networks

Critical infrastructures protection specific terminology

National critical infrastructures
A national critical infrastructure, hereby referred to as NCI, is an element, a system or one of its components, located on the national territory, which is essential for the maintenance of vital societal functions, health, safety, security, economic or social well-being of people, and the disruption or destruction of which would have a significant impact at national level as a result of the failure to maintain those functions.

European critical infrastructures
An European critical infrastructure, hereby referred to as ECI, is a national critical infrastructure, whose disruption or destruction would have a significant impact on at least two EU member-states, hereby referred to as member-states. The impact importance is assessed depending on inter-sector criteria. This impact includes the resulting effects deriving from inter-sector dependence on other types of infrastructures.

Critical infrastructures protection
The critical infrastructures protection, hereby referred to as CIP, represents a unitary set of processes and activities organized and carried out to ensure NCI/ECI proper function, continuity and integrity, in order to deter, diminish and neutralize a threat, risk or vulnerability  by identifying, implementing and maintaining security, organizational, technical, procedural and other type of measures resulting from the risk management processes.

Risk analysis
Risk analysis is the analysis of significant threat scenarios to assess the vulnerability and potential impact of disruption or destruction of NCI/ECI.

NCI/ECI owners/operators/administrators
NCI/ECI owners/operators/administrators are those entities responsible for investing in an element, system or component thereof, designated as NCI or ECI and / or their current operation / management.
Critical levels (thresholds)

Critical levels are limit values established according to the severity of the impact, disruption or destruction of an infrastructure identifiable as NCI/ ECI.

Essential services
Essential services are those services, facilities or activities which are or could be necessary to ensure a minimal living standard and society welfare and whose degradation or interruption of supply, consequent to the main physical system’s disruption or destruction, would significantly affect population’s safety and security as well as proper functioning of state institutions.

Operator’s Security Plan (OPS)
OPS stands for the planning document at strategic level, having an operational character through its associated procedures and being elaborated for each designated NCI/ECI and meant for NCI/ECI-level risk management, defining their aim, objectives, requirements and security measures.

NCI/ECI resiliency
NCI/ECI resiliency represents the critical infrastructure’s capability to absorb the initial shock, to adjust as a result of hazard or threat occurrence and to recover afterwards to continue providing society with essential services.

Centre for Coordination of Critical Infrastructure Protection

Centre for Coordination of Critical Infrastructure Protection - the national contact point in the relation with other Member-States, European Commission, North Atlantic Treaty Organization and other international structures, as well as the management of CIWIN network at national level.

Public Relations Office
Press Office
Monday-Friday: 08:00 - 16:00
Special Telecommunications Service © 2018 All Rights Reserved.